New York · Personal trainer cost

How Much Is a Personal Trainer in New York City? 2026 Prices, Gym by Gym

What a personal trainer costs in New York City in 2026: $100–250+ a session in person, PureGym and Crunch dues by neighborhood, and live coaching at $25.

MakeMyFitness Updated 11 min read

How much is a personal trainer in New York City in 2026?

Personal training in New York City is priced by the session, and nobody publishes an official rate. Trainers quote at the front desk or in a DM, chains keep their PT packages off their websites, and the published figures come from industry estimates. Here is every New York figure we could open and check on October 28, 2026, side by side, with what 12 sessions (three a week for a month) would come to.

Who you hireEstimated price12 sessionsFigure from
In-person trainer, New York City$100–250+ a session$1,200–3,000+FitBudd city table, updated May 27, 2026
Premium trainer in New York, LA or Miami$150–300+ an hour$1,800–3,600+Trainero, March 3, 2026
Trainer at a luxury club (Equinox, Life Time)$90–200+ a session$1,080–2,400+FitBudd Academy, updated February 18, 2026 (national)
Trainer at a big-box gym$60–120 a session$720–1,440Trainero (national)
MakeMyFitness Personal Gym Training, live on video$25 a session, 45 minutes$223 on the 4-week planOur price list
Published estimates for a personal trainer in New York City (checked October 28, 2026)

Two things stand out. First, New York sits at the top of every national table: FitBudd's same chart puts Chicago at $65–150 and the national urban average at $60–100, so a New York session can cost twice what the identical hour costs elsewhere. Second, almost none of these prices include the gym. If your trainer works inside a club, you pay the club's dues on top, and in Manhattan those can run past $100 a month before you lift anything.

Why do New York trainers quote anywhere from $60 to $300 an hour?

New York trainer prices spread from $60 to $300 because of who sets the price: the club, the trainer or a premium brand. Trainero notes that trainers at big-box gyms usually follow the club's price list, often $60–120 a session nationally, while independent trainers set their own rates and are more flexible about packages. FitBudd Academy adds that in New York City you should expect the higher end of every range, sometimes more than $150 a session.

  • Club trainers at chains like Crunch and PureGym: the PureGym club pages we opened say personal trainers are available, but neither chain's New York pages list a training price, so you only learn the rate after a consultation on the gym floor.
  • Luxury clubs such as Equinox and Life Time, both with Manhattan clubs: FitBudd Academy puts luxury-club sessions at $90–200 or more nationally, before any New York premium.
  • Independent trainers who rent floor space or come to your building: FitBudd Academy lists $60–120 a session plus travel nationally; in New York, ask whether the subway or cab ride to your building is billed on top.
  • Premium independent trainers with a following: Trainero says premium trainers in New York, Los Angeles and Miami can charge $150–300 or more an hour.

Packages bring the hourly figure down. Trainero says a 10- or 20-session package typically cuts the per-session price by 10–20%. That helps, but a 20% discount on a $150 Manhattan session still leaves you at $120, and many packages expire if you don't use them within a set window. Read the expiry date before you pay for 20.

How much is a gym membership in New York City?

A gym membership in New York City cost $26.99 to $127.20 a month at the six chain clubs we checked in October 2026, and it's the second half of the trainer bill. We opened the pages for three PureGym clubs (the former Blink Fitness gyms; the Midtown East page still calls itself “PureGym 54th (formerly Blink Fitness)”) and three Crunch clubs on October 28, 2026.

Club and neighborhoodCheapest planNo-contract planJoining fee
PureGym, 27 W 116th St, Harlem$26.99 (Core, 12 months)$32.99 (Core No Commit)$24.99 (Core)
PureGym, 227 4th Ave, Park Slope$27.99 (Core, 12 months)$33.99 (Core No Commit)$24.99 (Core)
PureGym, 240 E 54th St, Midtown East$46.99 (Premium Plus, 12 months)$52.99 (Core No Commit)$19.99–39.99
Crunch Ft Greene, 691 Fulton St, Brooklyn$102.00 (One Crunch)Not statedNot stated
Crunch, 1438 3rd Ave, Upper East Side$110.50 (One Crunch)Not statedNot stated
Crunch Union Square, 113 4th Ave$114.75 (One Crunch)Not statedNot stated
Monthly dues at six New York gyms, from each club's own page (October 28, 2026)

The All Crunch plan, which opens every club, was listed at $127.20 a month at all three Crunch locations. PureGym's Premium Plus plan, which covers multiple gyms on a 12-month commitment, was $45.99 in Harlem and Park Slope and $46.99 in Midtown East. Both chains were running promotions when we checked (PureGym advertised 50% off the first full month at selected gyms), so the price at the desk may be lower than the list.

What's the cheapest gym in New York? NYC Parks recreation centers at $150 a year

The cheapest gym in New York City belongs to the city. NYC Parks runs more than two dozen recreation centers across the five boroughs, and an adult membership (ages 25–61) costs $150 a year or $75 for six months, according to PIX11's report on the program. A membership limited to centers without an indoor pool is $100 a year. Seniors, veterans and people with disabilities pay $25, and anyone under 25 joins free. Members get exercise equipment, gyms, indoor tracks and pools year-round, though some instructor-led classes cost extra.

Divided by twelve, the full adult membership is $12.50 a month, less than half of PureGym's cheapest Harlem plan. The catch is the same one every New York gym has: nobody on the floor is coaching you.

What does a month of personal training cost in New York, gym included?

A month of 12 coached sessions in New York costs about $1,300 to $1,500 in person with a gym, or about $236 to $255 with a live online coach, using the published figures above. These totals use the published figures above; your own quote will differ.

SetupCoaching for 12 sessionsGym for the monthMonth total
In-person trainer at the low end of FitBudd's NYC range, Crunch Union Square$1,200$114.75$1,314.75
Big-box gym trainer at Trainero's top national rate, PureGym Midtown East$1,440$46.99$1,486.99
MakeMyFitness Personal Gym Training at PureGym Harlem$223$26.99$249.99
MakeMyFitness Personal Gym Training at an NYC Parks recreation center$223$12.50 (a year's $150 spread out)$235.50
MakeMyFitness Personal Home Training in your apartment$255$0$255
One month in New York City: 12 coached sessions plus the gym (October 2026 figures)

The gap is wide enough that a New Yorker could pay for a full year of PureGym in Harlem ($26.99 a month plus the $24.99 joining fee) and a month of live coaching for less than half of one month at the bottom of FitBudd's in-person range. That's not because our coaching is a lesser version of the same thing. It's a different format: your coach is on video instead of standing beside the bench, which removes the trainer's commute, the club's markup and the floor rent from the price.

Which New York option suits whom, then:

  • An in-person trainer at a Manhattan club suits you if you want someone physically spotting heavy lifts, adjusting you by hand, or you're chasing a one-rep max. We don't suit that: a coach on video can't catch a bar.
  • A cheap membership alone (PureGym from $26.99, NYC Parks at $150 a year) suits experienced lifters who already have a program and don't need anyone checking their form.
  • MakeMyFitness suits New Yorkers who want a coach watching every set, three times a week, for $223 a month, and who can train between 5 and 9:30 AM or 8:30 PM and midnight Eastern time.

Is a personal trainer or gym cheaper in Brooklyn than in Manhattan?

Gym dues in New York are lower in Brooklyn and Harlem than in Midtown and below 14th Street, by the club prices we checked in October 2026. Harlem's PureGym and Park Slope's were a dollar apart on their cheapest plans in October 2026 ($26.99 and $27.99). The jump comes in Midtown: PureGym's East 54th Street club listed no 12-month Core plan at all, and its no-contract Core plan was $52.99, against $32.99 in Harlem and $33.99 in Park Slope. Its no-contract joining fee was $39.99, double the $19.99 for Premium at the other two.

Crunch shows a smaller but similar slope. A one-club membership cost $102.00 in Fort Greene, $110.50 on the Upper East Side at 81st and 3rd, and $114.75 at Union Square. So training near the office in Midtown or below 14th Street usually costs more than training near home in Harlem, Park Slope or Fort Greene.

For trainer fees, we couldn't find any published figures broken down by New York neighborhood, so we won't invent a Williamsburg rate or an Upper West Side rate. Ask two or three trainers in your own area for their rate card and compare them with the citywide range above.

What should I ask a New York personal trainer before I pay?

  1. 1

    Is a session 60 minutes, 45 or 30?

    New York trainers quote per session, and sessions vary in length. A $120 half-hour is a $240 hour. Our sessions are 45 minutes, and the price is the same whatever time you book.

  2. 2

    Do I have to join your gym?

    Many club trainers can only coach members. Add the dues, joining fee and any annual fee to the quote before comparing.

  3. 3

    When does the package expire?

    A 20-session pack that expires in 60 days needs 2.3 sessions a week. Snowstorms, work trips and summer vacations all eat into that.

  4. 4

    What happens if I cancel late?

    Ask how much notice you need and whether a late cancel burns a session. With us, 24 hours' notice moves a session at no cost.

  5. 5

    What are your qualifications?

    Ask which certificate the trainer holds and when they earned it. Our lead coach, Kumar Abhishek, holds a Diploma in Personal Training and a Human Performance Nutritionist qualification from K11 School of Fitness Sciences, plus TRX Suspension Training. He doesn't hold a US certificate such as NASM or ACE, and we say so up front.

  6. 6

    What does the first session look like?

    A good first session in New York or anywhere starts with questions about injuries, goals and schedule, then a movement check, before anything heavy.

  7. 7

    Will you write the plan down?

    Ask for the program in writing so you can train between sessions on your own, and so the next trainer knows what you've done.

Is online personal training worth it in New York?

Online personal training is worth it in New York if you want a coach on most of your sessions for $25 each instead of $100 or more. MakeMyFitness is live online personal training: every session is a 45-minute video call with a certified coach who watches your form and corrects it as you go. New Yorkers use it in three places: at home in apartments where floor space is tight, in their building's gym, and at the PureGym, Crunch or recreation center they already pay for. There's no studio and no home visit. Prices are in dollars and US cards are accepted.

ProgramOne session4-week plan (12 sessions)Per session on the plan
Personal Gym Training1:1, 45 minutes$25$223about $19
Personal Home Training1:1, 45 minutes$28$255about $21
Rehab & Recovery1:1, once a doctor or physio has cleared you$41$382about $32
Group ClassesPer person, small group$16$127about $11
MakeMyFitness prices in the US, charged in USD. Every session is live on video, and a 4-week plan is three sessions a week.

Our coaches are based in India, so New York sessions run from 7:30 PM to 9:30 AM Eastern time in winter and 8:30 PM to 10:30 AM in summer. The slots that work all year are 5 to 9:30 AM and 8:30 PM to midnight. That suits the New Yorkers who already train before work: a 6 AM session in Park Slope is done before the morning rush on the F train, and a 9 PM session in Astoria starts once the kids are asleep.

What a live session can't do

A coach on video can't spot a heavy bench press, hand you a plate or adjust your hips with a hand. If you want to max out your squat, do it with a training partner or a gym trainer in the room. For everything else, from learning the deadlift to building a three-day strength program around a 5K, a coach who can see you on camera and talk you through each rep covers what most New Yorkers are paying $100-plus an hour for.

If cost is what's kept you from hiring a trainer, see what a coached day looks like on our New York page. For where to train when it isn't snowing, our guide to staying fit in New York measures the Central Park and Prospect Park loops, and healthy eating in New York puts calories on the bagel and the halal cart. Training elsewhere in the country? Start from our US page.

Sources

  1. How Much Does a Personal Trainer Cost? Complete Pricing Breakdown, FitBudd
  2. How Much Does a Personal Trainer Cost in a Gym vs Online vs App, FitBudd Academy
  3. How Much Does a Personal Trainer Cost? (2026 Pricing Guide), Trainero
  4. PureGym 116th, 27 West 116th St, Manhattan, PureGym
  5. PureGym Park Slope, 227 4th Ave, Brooklyn, PureGym
  6. PureGym 54th (formerly Blink Fitness), 240 E. 54th Street, Manhattan, PureGym
  7. Crunch Union Square, 113 4th Ave, Crunch Fitness
  8. Crunch East 81st Street, 1438 3rd Ave, Crunch Fitness
  9. Crunch Ft Greene, 691 Fulton St, Brooklyn, Crunch Fitness
  10. NYC recreation centers: get fit year-round for $150, PIX11

Written by the MakeMyFitness team from the sources above. First published , last updated . Spotted something out of date? Tell us at hello@makemyfitness.com.

In a gym planning corner with a desk and progress board, an athlete asks a question and a gym coach responds on video.

Questions people ask

About how Much Is a Personal Trainer in New York City? 2026 Prices, Gym by Gym.

  • About $100 to $250 or more for an in-person session, by FitBudd's 2026 city table, with premium New York trainers at $150–300 an hour by Trainero's estimate. Most also need you to belong to their gym. MakeMyFitness offers live 45-minute online personal training sessions in New York from $25, with a certified coach correcting your form on video.

Still have a question?Leave your number in the booking form and we'll call you.

Book a session

Your first rep starts here.

We’ll call to confirm your coach, talk through your goals and send you a private video link.

In the gym’s locker and check-in area, choose a date, then receive confirmation for a live gym workout.
  • Live on video, from anywhere
  • Coach matched to your goals
  • No long-term contracts

Step 1 of 4

What kind of training are you after?

1:1 · Live video · At your gym. Prop your phone up at the gym you already go to. Your coach joins on live video, plans every set and corrects your form as you lift.

In the entrance of the athlete’s own gym, an athlete is welcomed into live gym training.

Your Fitness.
Your Way.

Stop planning to start. Book your first session today.

Book a session