Leeds · Personal trainer cost

Personal Trainer Cost in Leeds: What The Edge, Nuffield and PureGym Charge in 2026

What a personal trainer costs in Leeds in 2026: £29.90–£41 a session at The Edge, Nuffield’s price list, PureGym fees by branch and Active Leeds rates.

MakeMyFitness Updated 9 min read

Compare the cost and what each option includes.

How much does a personal trainer cost in Leeds in 2026?

Compare the cost and what each option includes.
Compare the cost and what each option includes.

Personal training in Leeds costs roughly £24 to £41 a session at the gyms that put a price in writing, before you pay for membership. Most Leeds gyms don’t print one. PureGym and The Gym Group say trainers are available at their Leeds gyms but list no prices, and David Lloyd in Moortown says only that coaching comes “at an additional cost”. So the figures below come from the two Leeds operators that do publish: The Edge, the University of Leeds sports centre, and Nuffield Health at The Light on The Headrow. Every price was checked on 28 October 2026.

Where in LeedsPrice as publishedPer sessionWhat to know
The Edge, University of Leeds: 3 sessions£124About £41Free 20-minute consultation first; session length not stated
The Edge: 5 sessions£180£36Bespoke packages on request
The Edge: 10 sessions£299£29.90Membership from £26.50 a month
Nuffield Health, Leeds The Light: standard trainer£24 on Nuffield’s discounted price list£24Membership from £53 a month; length not stated
Nuffield Health, Leeds The Light: senior trainer£27 on the same list£27As above
PureGym, The Gym Group, David Lloyd MoortownNot publishedAsk the trainer or clubMembership on top
MakeMyFitness Personal Gym Training (live video)£19, or £167 for 12£13.92 on the plan45 minutes, in your own gym or at home
Published personal training prices in Leeds, checked 28 October 2026

The per-session figure for our plan is £167 divided by 12. The Edge and Nuffield don’t state their session length on the pages we read, so ask before you compare. Nuffield’s own personal training page says its sessions run for 30 or 60 minutes, which makes a big difference to what £24 buys.

What does The Edge at the University of Leeds charge for personal training?

Compare the cost and what each option includes.
Compare the cost and what each option includes.

The Edge is the University of Leeds sports centre, with a gym, pool, sauna, climbing wall, cycle circuit, sports halls and more than 130 exercise classes, according to its own trainers page. It sells personal training in packs. Three sessions are £124, five are £180 and ten are £299, so the price per session falls from about £41 to £29.90 the more you buy. It offers a free consultation of about 20 minutes before you commit, and it will build a bespoke package on request.

Membership starts at £26.50 a month. If you live in Hyde Park, Headingley or Woodhouse, The Edge is on your doorstep, and its 10-session pack is the lowest per-session price it publishes. Twelve sessions a month at that rate come to £358.80, before the membership.

Nuffield Health at The Light: a city-centre club with a pool

Nuffield Health’s Leeds gym is in The Light, the arcade on The Headrow. Its gym page listed Anytime membership at £53 a month on a 12-month commitment and £66 a month on a 1-month rolling plan, both shown as 20% off, with no joining fee. That buys a gym floor, a swimming pool, sauna and steam room, classes such as BODYPUMP and Pilates, and on-site physiotherapists.

Nuffield publishes a national sheet titled “Personal Training Discounted Prices” that lists every club. Leeds, The Light is £24 for a standard trainer and £27 for a senior trainer. Nearby Nuffield clubs are cheaper: Guiseley is £22, and Shipley and Cottingley are £18.50. The sheet doesn’t say how long a session is or who the discount applies to, so ask at reception which price you would pay.

How much is a gym membership in Leeds, branch by branch?

Gym access and personal coaching are separate parts of the budget.
Gym access and personal coaching are separate parts of the budget.

Gym membership in Leeds runs from £16.99 to £66 a month at the prices published on 28 October 2026, and the budget chains differ by only a few pounds between branches. PureGym lists eight Leeds gyms, including a new one in Meanwood due to open in December. Here are three of them, from the city centre to the eastern edge of town. Off-Peak cuts out the after-work rush, Core lets you in any hour, and Plus lets you use other PureGyms too.

Leeds PureGymOff-PeakCorePlusTo join
City Centre South, Cloth Hall Street, opposite the Corn Exchange£18.99£25.99£32.99£10
Kirkstall Bridge Shopping Park, LS5£19.99£24.99£31.99£10
Thorpe Park, The Springs, LS15£19.99£26.99£34.99£15
Three Leeds PureGyms and their monthly tiers, as listed on 28 October 2026

The other Leeds options, from the council’s leisure centres to a private club, all publish membership prices except David Lloyd, which asks you to enquire.

GymPriceWhat you get
The Gym Group (Meanwood and York Road)From £16.99, plus £10 joiningNo contract, most gyms open 24 hours
Active Leeds Adult (Leeds City Council)£28.95, or £289.50 a yearGym, pools, classes and squash at council centres
Active Leeds Student, 16 and over£21.95Same access, with academic ID
Active Leeds Fearnville gym only£17.99One gym in LS8
Active Leeds pay as you go£8.10 a gym sessionNo membership
The Edge, University of LeedsFrom £26.50Gym, pool, climbing wall, 130+ classes
Nuffield Health, Leeds The Light£53 (12 months) or £66 (rolling)Gym, pool, sauna, classes
Other Leeds gym memberships, monthly unless stated (checked 28 October 2026)

Active Leeds is the city’s biggest network: its site lists 17 venues, including 13 gyms and 14 pools, from Aireborough and Holt Park in the north to Middleton, Morley and Rothwell in the south. Its current prices date from 1 June 2026. There are council centres in Garforth, Kippax and Wetherby too, and the £28.95 adult membership covers the whole network.

Gym plus coach: the real monthly bill in Leeds

Look at the whole plan as well as the price of one session.
Look at the whole plan as well as the price of one session.

Leeds trainers and gyms bill separately, so add the two together. Each line below prices 12 sessions over four weeks from the figures above. None includes joining fees, which ran from £9.99 to £15 at the PureGym branches we checked.

CombinationGymCoachingTotal
The Edge membership and 12 sessions at its 10-pack rate£26.50£358.80£385.30
Nuffield The Light, 12-month plan, and 12 sessions at £24£53£288£341
Active Leeds Adult and MakeMyFitness Personal Gym Training£28.95£167£195.95
PureGym City Centre South Off-Peak and MakeMyFitness£18.99£167£185.99
Living room only: MakeMyFitness Personal Home Training£0£191£191
Twelve coached sessions in four weeks in Leeds, gym and coach combined (28 October 2026 prices)

The gym is the small number in every row. Swapping The Edge’s in-person trainer for a coach on video, while keeping a budget membership, saves about £200 a month at these prices.

What should you ask a Leeds personal trainer before you pay for a pack?

Discuss your goals, qualifications and session details before choosing a coach.
Discuss your goals, qualifications and session details before choosing a coach.

Leeds trainers sell in packs, and packs are where money gets lost. Ask these questions of any trainer in the city, us included.

  1. 1

    How long is a session?

    Neither The Edge’s pack prices nor Nuffield’s price sheet states a length, and Nuffield offers both 30 and 60 minutes. A £24 half-hour costs more per minute than a £36 hour.

  2. 2

    Do I need to be a member?

    Nuffield says its personal training is exclusive to gym members, and most in-gym trainers work the same way. Add the membership to the price: £26.50 at The Edge, £53 at Nuffield, £24.99 to £26.99 for PureGym Core.

  3. 3

    Does the pack expire?

    A 10-session pack is £299 at The Edge. Ask how long you have to use it, and whether a week of flu or a holiday loses you sessions.

  4. 4

    Who sets the price and the rules?

    Ask whether the trainer works for the gym or for themselves, because that decides whose cancellation rules you sign up to. Get them in writing.

  5. 5

    Where will I train, and when?

    A trainer in a Moortown club is a different commitment if you live in Morley. Count the drive or the bus both ways.

  6. 6

    What happens first?

    The Edge starts with a free consultation of about 20 minutes. Expect the opening hour to be talk and a look at how you squat and hinge, not a beasting; we start the same way.

Is a £19 video session good value against Leeds gym prices?

Compare the cost and what each option includes.
Compare the cost and what each option includes.

For most Leeds trainees who can get a session in before mid-afternoon, yes. MakeMyFitness puts a certified coach on a live call for 45 minutes. They see you through the camera and fix technique there and then, wherever you lift: the spare room, a residents’ gym, your PureGym or Active Leeds centre, or a hotel on a work trip. There are no recordings, no studios and nobody coming to your door.

ProgramOne session4-week plan (12 sessions)Per session on the plan
Personal Gym Training1:1, 45 minutes£19£167about £14
Personal Home Training1:1, 45 minutes£21£191about £16
Rehab & Recovery1:1, once a doctor or physio has cleared you£31£287about £24
Group ClassesPer person, small group£12£96about £8
MakeMyFitness prices in the UK, charged in GBP. Every session is live on video, and a 4-week plan is three sessions a week.

Against the figures above, £19 undercuts Nuffield’s £24 list price and The Edge’s lowest pack rate of £29.90. Buy the 4-week plan, three sessions a week, and 12 come to £167, or £13.92 each. Billing is in sterling to a UK card, and a session can be shifted if you tell us a day ahead.

The coaching team works from India. That is why Leeds sessions run from 6 AM to 2:30 PM in winter, and to 3:30 PM between late March and late October. In practice that means an early slot before the Horsforth train, the lunch hour in town, or a mid-morning gap on a home-working day in Chapel Allerton. After-work training isn’t on offer.

Kumar Abhishek leads our coaches. His Diploma in Personal Training and Human Performance Nutritionist award both come from K11 School of Fitness Sciences, and he is certified in TRX Suspension Training. Nobody on the team has a British Level 3. If a UK credential matters to you, ask every Leeds trainer you’re weighing up, us included, to show you what they hold.

Who should pick which option in Leeds, us included?

Compare the cost and what each option includes.
Compare the cost and what each option includes.
  • Students and staff around the university campus: The Edge is a short walk away, with its 10-session pack at £29.90 each and membership from £26.50.
  • Office workers who want a pool in town: Nuffield at The Light is £53 a month on a 12-month plan, with trainers at £24 to £27 on its list.
  • Regulars at PureGym, The Gym Group or a council centre: hold on to that membership and bring a coach in on your phone for £19.
  • Anyone in Garforth, Wetherby or Morley tired of driving in: Personal Home Training costs £21 and happens in your own lounge.
  • People returning from surgery or an injury: your GP or physio decides when you’re ready. After that, Rehab & Recovery is £31 of coached exercise, not treatment.
  • Budget-first trainees who like a crowd: Group Classes cost £12 each in a small live group.
  • Evening-only trainees: not us. Our winter sessions end at 2:30 PM, so look for a trainer at your Leeds gym.
  • Lifters chasing heavy singles: pay for someone in the room. Nobody on a screen can grab a stuck bar.

Next, see how to stay fit in Leeds for running routes and races, and healthy eating in Leeds for the chippy, the curry and the Sunday dinner in numbers. The Leeds page shows today’s booking window, and the UK page has the other cities, London among them.

Sources

  1. Meet our personal trainers, The Edge, University of Leeds
  2. Leeds gym, The Light, Nuffield Health
  3. Personal Training Discounted Prices, Nuffield Health
  4. Leeds gyms, The Gym Group
  5. Memberships, Active Leeds, Leeds City Council
  6. Pricing, Active Leeds, Leeds City Council
  7. Leeds City Centre South gym, PureGym
  8. Leeds Kirkstall Bridge gym, PureGym
  9. Leeds Thorpe Park gym, PureGym
  10. Personal training at Leeds, Nuffield Health

Written by the MakeMyFitness team from the sources above. First published , last updated . Spotted something out of date? Tell us at hello@makemyfitness.com.

Talk through your questions with the coach before starting.

Questions people ask

About personal Trainer Cost in Leeds: What The Edge, Nuffield and PureGym Charge in 2026.

  • At The Edge, the University of Leeds gym, it is £29.90 to £41 a session depending on the pack: £124 for 3, £180 for 5 or £299 for 10 (checked 28 October 2026). Nuffield Health’s price list puts Leeds, The Light at £24 for a standard trainer and £27 for a senior one, and both gyms charge membership on top.

Still have a question?Leave your number in the booking form and we'll call you.

Book a session

Your first rep starts here.

We’ll call to confirm your coach, talk through your goals and send you a private video link.

Choose a session and agree the details with your coach.
  • Live on video, from anywhere
  • Coach matched to your goals
  • No long-term contracts

Step 1 of 4

What kind of training are you after?

1:1 · Live video · At your gym. Prop your phone up at the gym you already go to. Your coach joins on live video, plans every set and corrects your form as you lift.

Your next session starts with a conversation.

Your Fitness.
Your Way.

Stop planning to start. Book your first session today.

Book a session