How much is a personal trainer in Seattle in 2026?
A personal trainer in Seattle costs about $65 to $100 for a single in-person session, by the price lists and estimates we could open on October 28, 2026. Few Seattle gyms publish their personal training rates. Most ask you to book a consultation first and quote you at the desk. So we went looking for gyms that do post a rate card, and set them beside the estimates people find when they search.
| Who you train with | Price per session | Session length | Where the figure comes from |
|---|---|---|---|
| Ballard Health Club trainer, 2208 NW Market St | $95 single, $75–90 on packages | 50 minutes | The club's own personal training page |
| Seattle University Recreation trainer (members only) | $50 single, $40 on a 10-pack (non-students) | 60 minutes | Seattle U's personal training page |
| Typical Seattle trainer, citywide estimate | $65–100 | Not stated | StartCosts, data updated October 27, 2026 |
| Typical Eastside trainer (Bellevue, Kirkland) | $75–120 | Not stated | StartCosts, same page |
| MakeMyFitness Personal Gym Training, live on video | $25 single, about $18.58 on the 12-session plan | 45 minutes | Our price list |
The Ballard figure is the most useful one here, because it's a real rate card from a real Seattle gym rather than an estimate. Ballard Health Club has been a neighborhood gym since 1998, and it prices training the way many independent Seattle clubs do: a high single-session rate that falls the more sessions you buy up front. Seattle University's rates are lower, but its recreation center says plainly that it serves students, faculty, staff, alumni and their families, not the wider community.
How do Seattle trainer packages work? Ballard Health Club's rate card, priced out
Seattle trainers who sell packages charge less per session the more you commit to, and Ballard Health Club's published card shows exactly how much. Its sessions are 50 minutes, and it also offers 25-minute sessions and payment plans on request. Here is the full card from its website on October 28, 2026, with the total you'd pay up front.
| Package | Price per session | Paid up front | Saving on the single rate |
|---|---|---|---|
| Single session | $95 | $95 | None |
| 4 sessions | $90 | $360 | $20 |
| 8 sessions | $85 | $680 | $80 |
| 16 sessions | $80 | $1,280 | $240 |
| 24 sessions | $75 | $1,800 | $480 |
The 24-pack cuts the session price by 21%, from $95 to $75, but it means handing over $1,800 at once. At three sessions a week, 24 sessions last two months. At two a week, they last three. Before you buy a big pack at any Seattle gym, ask how long it stays valid and what happens to unused sessions if you move to the Eastside, get injured or simply lose the habit in the dark weeks of December.
Per minute, that card works out to $1.90 a minute for a single 50-minute session and $1.50 on the 24-pack. A 45-minute live session with MakeMyFitness at $25 is about 56 cents a minute, and the 12-session plan at $223 brings it under 42 cents.
What does a gym membership cost in Seattle?
A gym membership in Seattle cost anywhere from nothing to $96 a month for one adult at the places we checked in October 2026, and most in-person trainers expect you to be a member of the gym they work in. Numbeo's crowd-sourced Seattle average for a monthly fitness club membership was $76.46 (range $30–150, from 1,183 entries in the past 12 months, updated October 27, 2026).
| Gym | Monthly price | Joining fee | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Seattle Parks community center fitness rooms (e.g. Garfield, 2323 E Cherry St) | Free for adults 18+ | None | Sign in with a free Quick Card; Garfield's summer 2026 hours were 9 AM–8 PM weekdays |
| Ballard Health Club, Basic | $59 ($590 a year) | $75 enrollment | Access during front desk hours; first and last month charged at sign-up |
| Ballard Health Club, Plus | $69 ($690 a year) | $75 enrollment | Classes and optional 24/7 after-hours access |
| YMCA of Greater Seattle, adult | $96 | $79 ($0 with code FALL26 until October 31) | Branches include Downtown, University, East Madison and West Seattle |
| YMCA of Greater Seattle, household | $138–162 | $79 | One adult with dependents $138; two adults $151; two adults with dependents $162 |
Seattle's free option: city fitness rooms
Seattle Parks and Recreation runs fitness rooms inside its community centers, and the ones we checked charge adults nothing. Garfield Community Center in the Central District listed its fitness room as free for anyone 18 or older in its summer 2026 brochure, open 9 AM to 8 PM on weekdays and 10 AM to 5 PM on Saturdays. You sign in at the front desk with a Quick Card, which is free when you create a city recreation account. Equipment and hours vary by center, so check your nearest one before you go.
A free room with a rack of dumbbells covers the equipment. What it doesn't cover is anyone telling you your knees are caving on the squat. That's the part a trainer charges $95 for.
Pay-as-you-go: day passes and month passes
If you don't want a contract, Ballard Health Club sold a single visit for $25, ten visits for $195, a one-week pass for $65 and a one-month pass for $95 in October 2026. A month pass costs $36 more than the Basic membership, but there's no enrollment fee and no last month's dues held up front.
Is a personal trainer cheaper in Seattle or on the Eastside?
Personal training is usually cheaper in Seattle than across Lake Washington in Bellevue and Kirkland, by StartCosts' estimates: $65–100 a session in Seattle against $75–120 on the Eastside. Both sit below the top West Coast markets. FitBudd, a coaching-software company, put in-person sessions in Los Angeles and San Francisco at $80 to $200 or more in its May 27, 2026 table, and the national figure for a one-hour session at $55 to $65.
Inside the city, we found no published trainer rates broken down by neighborhood, so we won't guess at a Capitol Hill rate or a Queen Anne rate. The Ballard card at $95 is one data point, not a neighborhood average. If you live in Fremont, Wallingford or West Seattle, ask two or three gyms near you for their written rate card and set them against the $65–100 citywide range.
What does a month of personal training cost in Seattle, gym included?
A month of 12 coached sessions in Seattle, three a week, costs roughly $1,000 to $1,200 in person with a gym, or $223 to $319 with a live online coach, using the published prices above. Your own quote will differ, but the gap is the point.
| Setup | Coaching | Gym | Month total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Ballard Health Club trainer at the single rate, Basic membership | 12 × $95 = $1,140 | $59 | $1,199 |
| Ballard Health Club trainer at the 16-pack rate, Basic membership | 12 × $80 = $960 | $59 | $1,019 |
| Trainer at the low end of the citywide estimate, YMCA adult | 12 × $65 = $780 | $96 | $876 |
| MakeMyFitness Personal Gym Training at the YMCA | $223 (12 sessions) | $96 | $319 |
| MakeMyFitness Personal Gym Training at a free Seattle Parks fitness room | $223 (12 sessions) | $0 | $223 |
| MakeMyFitness Personal Home Training in your apartment | $255 (12 sessions) | $0 | $255 |
The difference isn't a discount on the same product. It's a different format. Your coach is on a video call rather than standing next to the bench, so there's no gym floor rent, no club markup and no trainer driving across the Ship Canal to reach you. The coaching itself, a warm-up, a planned set of lifts, form cues on every rep and a plan written down for next time, is what you're paying for in both cases.
So which Seattle option suits whom?
- An in-person trainer at a club like Ballard Health Club suits you if you want hands-on adjustments, someone spotting a heavy bench press or squat, or you're training for a powerlifting meet. A coach on video can't catch a bar, and we won't pretend otherwise.
- A free Seattle Parks fitness room or a $59 membership on its own suits experienced lifters who already follow a program and don't need their form checked.
- Seattle University's $40–50 sessions suit you if you're a student, staff member or alumnus: they're the cheapest in-person rate card we found, but closed to everyone else.
- MakeMyFitness suits Seattle residents who want a coach watching every set three times a week for $223 a month, and who can train between 5:30 and 10 PM or between 5 and 6:30 AM Pacific time.
What should you ask a Seattle trainer before you pay?
- 1
How long is a session?
Seattle rate cards mix 50-minute, 60-minute and 25-minute sessions. Ballard Health Club's $95 buys 50 minutes; Seattle U's $50 buys 60. Compare by the minute, not by the session.
- 2
What do I pay to join before I train?
Add enrollment fees and any dues paid in advance. Ballard Health Club charges a $75 enrollment fee plus your first and last month's dues at sign-up, plus tax.
- 3
When does the package expire?
A 24-session pack bought in October has to survive the Thanksgiving week, the December holidays and the darkest, wettest weeks of the year. Ask for the expiry date in writing.
- 4
What's the cancellation rule?
Ask how much notice you need before a session is forfeited. With us, 24 hours' notice moves a session at no cost.
- 5
Which qualification do you hold?
Ask which certificate and when it was earned. Our lead coach, Kumar Abhishek, holds a Diploma in Personal Training and a Human Performance Nutritionist qualification from K11 School of Fitness Sciences, plus TRX Suspension Training. He doesn't hold a US certificate such as NASM or ACE.
- 6
Will I get the plan in writing?
Ask for the program on paper or in an app, so you can train between sessions on a free community center visit or a Green Lake walk and keep progressing.
Is online personal training worth it in Seattle?
Online personal training is worth it in Seattle if you want a coach on every session for $25 instead of $75 to $95. MakeMyFitness is live online personal training: each session is a 45-minute video call with a certified coach who watches your form and corrects it as you move. Seattle clients train in three places: at home in apartments where floor space is tight, in their building's gym, and at the YMCA, neighborhood club or community center fitness room they already use. There are no studios and no home visits. Prices are in dollars and US cards are accepted.
| Program | One session | 4-week plan (12 sessions) | Per session on the plan |
|---|---|---|---|
| Personal Gym Training1:1, 45 minutes | $25 | $223 | about $19 |
| Personal Home Training1:1, 45 minutes | $28 | $255 | about $21 |
| Rehab & Recovery1:1, once a doctor or physio has cleared you | $41 | $382 | about $32 |
| Group ClassesPer person, small group | $16 | $127 | about $11 |
Our coaches are based in India, so Seattle sessions run from 4:30 PM to 6:30 AM Pacific time in winter and from 5:30 PM to 7:30 AM in summer. The slots that work all year are 5:30 to 10 PM and 5 to 6:30 AM. For most people in Seattle that means the hour straight after work: a 6 PM session in a Capitol Hill one-bedroom, or 7 PM in the gym on the ground floor of a South Lake Union tower, at the time of year when it's already dark outside.
What a coach on video can't do
A video coach can't spot your bench press, hand you a heavier dumbbell or move your hips into place. If you're chasing a one-rep max, keep a training partner or an in-person trainer for those days. For learning to deadlift, building strength for a Mount Si hike or getting back to a routine after a long gray winter, a coach who sees you on camera and talks you through each rep covers what most Seattle trainers charge $75 to $95 a session for.
See how a coached evening fits a Seattle day on our Seattle page. For the outdoor half of your week, our guide to staying fit in Seattle measures the Green Lake and Seward Park loops, and healthy eating in Seattle puts calories and protein on Dick's burgers and Ivar's fish and chips. Comparing cities? New York's trainer prices run higher, and our US page lists every city we cover.
Sources
- Personal Training at Ballard Health Club in Seattle, Ballard Health Club
- Membership pricing, Ballard Health Club
- Personal Training, Seattle University Recreation
- Membership, YMCA of Greater Seattle
- Garfield Community Center Summer Programs 2026, Seattle Parks and Recreation
- Cost of Living in Seattle, Numbeo
- Personal Training Business Startup Costs in Washington, StartCosts
- How Much Does a Personal Trainer Cost? Complete Pricing Breakdown, FitBudd
Written by the MakeMyFitness team from the sources above. First published , last updated . Spotted something out of date? Tell us at hello@makemyfitness.com.
